BalanceBikeToddler

A ride-on car's own weight and the rider it is rated for are different numbers. Across 15 listings we separate them and show the ratio between.

Plan-B asset · weight and load

Kids Ride-On Weight: Car Weight Against Rider Limits, 15 Cars

A ride-on car is the only wheeled toy on this site where the child's weight is not the last number on the spec sheet. Somebody has to lift the car onto a charger and drag it back into a garage, and the machine itself has to hold the child up. Of the 15 cars published here, 11 state what the car weighs, 13 state the rider it is rated for, and only 9 publish both — which is the only way to judge whether the two numbers leave room for a real child.

Plan-B asset · weight and load

How heavy these cars are

Car weights run from 12.5 lb to 70 lb. Three of the four heaviest are 24V machines, and the heaviest of all is a four-seat golf cart with a roof at 70 lb — a vehicle that no child could move and that a parent may struggle to lift into a car. All 11 weights arrive in pounds; not one listing in this set states a weight in kilograms.

Car weight stated 11 / 15 73%
Rider limit stated 13 / 15 87%
Both published 9 / 15 60%
Car weight only 2 / 15 13%
Rider limit only 4 / 15 27%
Plan-B asset · weight and load

The ratio between the two numbers

Where both figures exist, the interesting quantity is not either one but the distance between them. Among the 9 listings that publish both, that ratio ranges from 1.07 to 10.89. A rating of "150 lb" is uninformative on its own; a rating of "150 lb" on a 13.78 lb car is a very different promise from "65 lb" on a 60.63 lb one.

Tightest — the ANPABO S323, a 60.63 lb car rated for a 65 lb rider. The margin is 4.37 lb, and the ratio 1.07. Any child above about 60 lb is at or beyond the published limit of this machine, and the same listing says the two seats are rated for 130 lb in total. That figure is for the vehicle's combined load, not for one rider.

Widest by multiple — the FanttikRide N7 Pro, a 13.78 lb car rated for 150 lb, a ratio of 10.89 and a margin of 136.22 lb. The runner-up is the Gotrax WG1 at 9.21, a 14.33 lb car rated for 132 lb. The widest margin in pounds is a third machine again: the LIGIANT R9, whose 194 lb gap comes from a 264 lb limit on a 70 lb car — a ratio of only 3.77. Margin and multiple are different questions, and this category answers them with different machines.

Plan-B asset · weight and load

Four gaps a buyer cannot close from this catalogue

Each of these is a number the listings leave out, and each one changes what a parent can plan.

Both numbers — 9 of 15 listings publish a car weight and a rider limit together. The other 6 publish one or the other, so for those rows the ratio cannot be computed at all.

One-sided entries — 4 listings state a rider limit with no car weight (all four at 66 lb or 132 lb), and 2 state a car weight with no limit. A limit without a weight is a claim about the child; a weight without a limit is a claim about the parent. Neither one is a spec.

Units and wording — all 11 car weights arrive in pounds and all 13 limits in pounds too, so no conversion was needed here, but no listing says whether that weight includes the battery, the charger or the packaging. The three heaviest cars are quoted at 60.63 lb, 54.6 lb and 36.7 lb without stating which of those they are.

Storage and handling — no listing publishes a folded height, a wheel diameter, or a weight that excludes the battery, so there is no way to tell whether the 70 lb golf cart can be taken apart, or whether it can be carried upstairs, from these records. That is a question for the retailer, not for this page.

Plan-B asset · weight and load

Both weights, side by side

Sorted by the margin between the car's own weight and the rider it is rated for, tightest first. The margin column is the subtraction, not a published figure.

Both weights, side by side
BrandModelCar weightRider limitMargin
GotraxGotrax RT112.5 lbnot statednot stated
Lil' RiderLil' Rider 90-YJ876B16.8 lb55 lb38.20 lb
FanttikRideFanttikRide N7 Pro13.78 lb150 lb136.22 lb
GotraxGotrax WG114.33 lb132 lb117.67 lb
Miniature MotorsMiniature Motors BBH-03826.4 lb66 lb39.60 lb
WinadoWinado WNDTRUCK657not stated66 lbnot stated
ANPABOANPABO QY-298818.74 lbnot statednot stated
WinadoWinado WDXFL587not stated66 lbnot stated
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY550632 lb61 lb29.00 lb
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY741336.7 lb66 lb29.30 lb
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY941554.6 lb132 lb77.40 lb
First Ride OnFirst Ride On FB001not stated132 lbnot stated
ANPABOANPABO S32360.63 lb65 lb4.37 lb
LIGIANTLIGIANT R970 lb264 lb194.00 lb
First Ride OnFirst Ride On 36U001not stated132 lbnot stated

How the weights were read

Source: the CMS product snapshot, gated to the id namespace electric_vehicles-* with category "electric_car", minus the listings Stage 1 prunes — 15 published cars.

Car weight is the item weight in the specification record; the rider limit is the published weight capacity. Each is reproduced as stated, and the raw string for both is kept in src/data/rideOnData.generated.ts.

The margin column is computed here as limit minus car weight, and the ratio as limit divided by car weight. Neither figure appears in the source data; both are arithmetic on the two published numbers.

Where a listing publishes only one of the pair, that row shows the figure it has and marks the other as not stated. No value was copied from a sibling listing of the same model.

Nothing here was weighed. These are the retailers' own figures for their own products.

Balance bike reference pages