BalanceBikeToddler

Which battery tier a ride-on car sits in decides its speed, seats and weight. All 15 cars here, and where each voltage figure actually came from.

Plan-B asset · battery tier

Kids Ride-On Voltage: 6V, 12V, 24V or 36V, 15 Cars Compared

The number on the box is the first thing a buyer reads and the last thing a listing explains. Of the 15 children's ride-on cars this site publishes, 1 run on 6V, 9 on 12V, 4 on 24V and 1 on 36V — and within the largest of those tiers the price runs from $75.99 to $199.99. The tier tells you what class of machine you are buying; it does not tell you what it will cost, and in most of these listings it does not even come from a structured field.

Plan-B asset · battery tier

Where the voltage figure actually comes from

Every listing on this page carries a voltage, so the obvious presentation is a full bar. That would hide the part a buyer needs: 9 of the 15 listings state their battery size only in the product title, which is marketing copy, while 6 state it in the specification field, which is a structured attribute. The two are not equally reliable, so they are counted apart here.

Voltage stated 15 / 15 100%
In the specification field 6 / 15 40%
In the product title only 9 / 15 60%
Seat count stated 5 / 15 33%
Battery life stated 10 / 15 67%
Plan-B asset · battery tier

The four tiers, and what each one buys

The tiers are nested rather than scattered, which is the clearest signal that this is one product family scaled up rather than four unrelated categories. Every 36V machine is a two-seat vehicle with four driven wheels, and every 6V machine is a small single-seat trike.

6V — 1 listing, $79.19. A three-wheel police-decal motorcycle for children aged three and over, rated at 1.75 mph. It is the smallest machine here and the only one that states no runtime at all.

12V — 9 listings, $75.99 to $199.99. The bulk of the catalogue and the widest price spread in it. This group includes both a 12.5 lb wiggle car and a 32 lb truck with a parent remote, so the tier spans everything from a push-along toy to a vehicle with a 3.5 mph top speed.

24V — 4 listings, $284.98 to $319.97. Two-seaters with real ground clearance: one is a 45.3-inch-long two-seat truck, one a licensed Ford F-150 with four 100W motors, one a four-seat golf cart with a roof. This is the tier where seat count starts to appear.

36V — 1 listing, $379.52. A metal-frame two-seat UTV with a variable throttle pedal, 14-inch wheels and a stated 5–8 mph range. It is also the only machine here with no parental remote: the description says so in as many words, and it is aimed at children aged six and up rather than toddlers.

Plan-B asset · battery tier

Seat count appears only above 12V

Only 5 of the 15 listings state how many children ride in the vehicle, and every one of them is a 24V or 36V machine. The 10 cars in the two lower tiers say nothing about passenger count, which means the question "can my two children share this?" cannot be answered from those listings at all.

Plan-B asset · battery tier

Three things the voltage does not settle

Stated here because a buyer who has decided on a tier will still want these answered.

Source of the figure — 9 of 15 listings give the voltage only in the product title, 6 in the specification field. Titles are rewritten for search; specification fields are not. Both are reproduced here, and the column shows which one carried the number.

Price within a tier — the 12V group alone spans $75.99 to $199.99. A tier narrows the field to a class of machine; it does not narrow it to a price.

Runtime — 10 of 15 listings state a battery life, but none of them states a charge time, and the 6V and 36V machines state no runtime at all. A runtime without a charging time does not tell a parent whether the car will be ready for a weekend.

Plan-B asset · battery tier

Every car, with the tier it belongs to

Sorted by tier and then by price. Runtime is the minutes figure as the listing states it, converted from hours where necessary.

Every car, with the tier it belongs to
BrandModelVoltageStated inPriceSeatsRuntime
GotraxGotrax RT112 Vtitle$75.99not stated80 min
Lil' RiderLil' Rider 90-YJ876B6 Vtitle$79.19not statednot stated
FanttikRideFanttikRide N7 Pro12 Vspec field$79.99not stated105 min
GotraxGotrax WG112 Vtitle$98.79not stated120 min
Miniature MotorsMiniature Motors BBH-03812 Vspec field$102.59not stated50 min
WinadoWinado WNDTRUCK65712 Vtitle$119.99not stated90 min
ANPABOANPABO QY-298812 Vtitle$123.49not statednot stated
WinadoWinado WDXFL58712 Vspec field$129.99not stated90 min
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY550612 Vspec field$169.99not statednot stated
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY741312 Vspec field$199.99not stated60 min
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY941524 Vspec field$284.98290 min
First Ride OnFirst Ride On FB00124 Vtitle$314.472not stated
ANPABOANPABO S32324 Vtitle$314.492122 min
LIGIANTLIGIANT R924 Vtitle$319.974120 min
First Ride OnFirst Ride On 36U00136 Vtitle$379.522not stated

How the tier counts were made

Source: the CMS product snapshot, gated to the id namespace electric_vehicles-* with category "electric_car", minus the listings Stage 1 prunes — 15 published cars.

Voltage is read from the specification field where it carries a number, otherwise from the product title. The source of each figure is recorded per row so the two can be counted separately; no voltage was inferred from a battery description.

On these listings the "Size" field holds the battery voltage rather than a measurement, which is why the size page reads dimensions from the dimension record instead. That mislabelling is a property of the source data and is reported on the size page.

Runtime figures arrive in hours for 6 listings and in minutes for 4; both are converted to minutes here and the raw string is kept in src/data/rideOnData.generated.ts.

Voltages are as the retailers state them. Nothing here was measured, charged or driven.

Balance bike reference pages