BalanceBikeToddler

14 of 15 ride-on listings publish length, width and height. The sizes, the floor space they take, and a size field that holds something else.

Plan-B asset · size and footprint

Kids Ride-On Size: Length, Width and Floor Space, 15 Cars

A ride-on car is the first thing on this site that a family has to get through a doorway. Of the 15 children's ride-on cars published here, 14 give a full length, width and height. The largest of them is 55 inches long and 34.6 inches wide — wider than a standard interior door.

Plan-B asset · size and footprint

The size field does not contain a size

The catalogue has a field called "Size" and a buyer would reasonably expect a measurement in it. On these listings it holds something else, and the page classifies what it actually holds rather than reading it as a dimension. The classification is computed from the raw strings, so the counts can be checked against the generated dataset.

Length stated 14 / 15 93%
Size field held a voltage 6 / 15 40%
Size field held a dimension 3 / 15 20%
Size field held a word 5 / 15 33%
Size field was empty 1 / 15 7%

A battery voltage — 6 of 15 listings put a voltage here, such as "12V" or "24V - 2 Seater". The same number appears in the product title, which is why the voltage page counts it as a title-sourced figure.

A dimension string — 3 listings put a measurement in the size field while the dimension record holds one too. Where both exist the dimension record is used here, because it parses into three separate numbers.

A size word — 5 listings put a word or trim name here: A-With Roof, Extra Large, Large, Small. None of those can be checked against a measurement, and "Small" in this set belongs to a 28.34-inch car while "Extra Large" belongs to a 44-inch one. "A-With Roof" is not a size at all but a trim designation.

Nothing — 1 listing leaves the field empty. It does publish a dimension record, so it appears in the table below; but the field a shopper would look to for a size holds no information for them.

Plan-B asset · size and footprint

How big these cars actually are

Lengths run from 28.34 to 55 inches and widths from 13.38 to 34.6. Heights run from 14.96 to 45 inches, and the tallest one is the only car here with a roof — that single canopy accounts for most of the difference.

Longest — the First Ride On 36U001 at 55 inches. It is also the most expensive listing in the catalogue and the only 36V machine in it.

Widest — the First Ride On 36U001 at 34.6 inches across. A US interior door leaf is roughly 32 to 36 inches wide, so this one sits at or beyond the width of a standard doorway, and it is the only listing in this catalogue wider than 32 inches.

Tallest — the LIGIANT R9 at 45 inches, which is a roof rather than a roll bar. It is worth separating from the rest: the height of a car without a canopy is a seat-back measurement, and the height of one with a canopy is a garage measurement.

Plan-B asset · size and footprint

Floor space is the figure nobody publishes

A car's length and width decide whether it fits in a hallway; its footprint decides whether it fits in a room. No listing publishes a floor area, so the column below is computed here from the two dimensions the listings do give.

Plan-B asset · size and footprint

Size follows the battery

Length rises with voltage across the whole catalogue, which is why the size question and the battery question turn out to be the same question.

Plan-B asset · size and footprint

Three measurements that decide fit, and are not here

Stated because a parent measuring a garage will ask for exactly these.

Assembled size versus packed size — 15 of 15 listings say assembly is required, and every dimension on this page is presumably the assembled figure, but no listing publishes a packed size or a folded one. A car that has to be carried up a staircase exists in this catalogue and cannot be measured for that journey from these records.

Whether it comes apart — no listing states whether the vehicle disassembles. The First Ride On 36U001 at 34.6 inches wide is the case where this matters most, and it is exactly the case no listing addresses.

Wheel and tyre diameter — not one listing publishes a tyre size, although the descriptions mention 8-inch and 14-inch wheels in prose. The published height includes the wheels, so the ride height a child sits at cannot be derived from it.

Plan-B asset · size and footprint

Measured cars, smallest to longest

All figures in inches. Footprint is length times width divided by 144 — computed here, since no listing publishes it. The last column is what the size field held.

Measured cars, smallest to longest
BrandModelLengthWidthHeightFloor areaSize field said
GotraxGotrax RT128.34 in15.74 in17.91 in3.1 sq ftSmall
Lil' RiderLil' Rider 90-YJ876B31 in17 in21 in3.7 sq ftLarge
FanttikRideFanttikRide N7 Pro30.25 in13.95 in15.9 in2.9 sq ft12V
GotraxGotrax WG130.7 in13.38 in14.96 in2.9 sq ft30.7 x 17.71 x 14.96 inches
Miniature MotorsMiniature Motors BBH-03839 in24.4 in24.4 in6.6 sq ft12V
WinadoWinado WNDTRUCK657not statednot statednot statednot statedSmall
ANPABOANPABO QY-298832.87 in25.98 in34.64 in5.9 sq ftnot stated
WinadoWinado WDXFL58740.15 in21.65 in22.83 in6.0 sq ft12V
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY550639.25 in26 in26 in7.1 sq ft12V
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY741342.9 in28.4 in25.2 in8.5 sq ft12V
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY941545.3 in31.7 in30.7 in10.0 sq ft24V - 2 Seater
First Ride OnFirst Ride On FB00144 in31.7 in30.7 in9.7 sq ftExtra Large
ANPABOANPABO S32351.2 in30.7 in24.6 in10.9 sq ft51.2*30.7*24.6 inches
LIGIANTLIGIANT R951.4 in28.3 in45 in10.1 sq ftA-With Roof
First Ride OnFirst Ride On 36U00155 in34.6 in31.5 in13.2 sq ft55"L × 35"W × 31"H

How the measurements were read

Source: the CMS product snapshot, gated to the id namespace electric_vehicles-* with category "electric_car", minus the listings Stage 1 prunes — 15 published cars.

Length, width and height come from the item dimension record, parsed into three numbers. Where a listing states a dimension string in the size field instead, the dimension record is still preferred because it parses cleanly; the size field is reported separately in its own column.

Floor area is computed here as length multiplied by width, divided by 144 to convert square inches to square feet. It appears in no listing and is not a published figure.

The size-field classification is a rule applied to the raw strings in src/data/rideOnData.generated.ts: a value that starts with a voltage is a voltage, a value containing both digits and a separator is a dimension string, any other non-empty value is an adjective.

Nothing here was measured with a tape. These are the retailers' own figures for their own products.

Balance bike reference pages