BalanceBikeToddler

Only 4 of 15 ride-on listings attach a number to the age label. The rest say "Kid". Reported verbatim, plus what the manufacturer field really says.

Plan-B asset · age fit

Kids Ride-On Age Range: 15 Cars, Which Child They Suit

Every parent starts here and this category answers badly. 9 of the 15 cars carry an age label, but only 4 of those labels contain a number — the other 5 say "Kid", "Kids" or "Baby, Kid". Underneath, the structured manufacturer minimum-age field is 36 months for 11 of the 15 listings, so the floor barely moves even though the machines range from a 12.5 lb toddler car to a 55-inch 36V UTV.

Plan-B asset · age fit

What the age label actually says

Three kinds of label appear in this catalogue, and only one of them can be checked against a child.

Carries an age label 9 / 15 60%
Label contains a number 4 / 15 27%
Label is a word only 5 / 15 33%
No label at all 6 / 15 40%

A number — 4 listings: Gotrax RT1 ("1.5-4 years old"), First Ride On FB001 ("3-8 years"), ANPABO S323 ("3-8 years old"), LIGIANT R9 ("37-96 Months"). These are the only rows where the stated age can be compared with the child's age and with the machine's actual size.

A word — 5 listings say "Baby, Kid", "Kid", "Kids". "Kid" spans roughly three to eight years and "Baby, Kid" spans wider still, so these labels are a marketing convenience rather than a specification.

Nothing — 6 listings carry no age label at all: Gotrax WG1, Miniature Motors BBH-038, Winado WNDTRUCK657, ANPABO QY-2988, Winado WDXFL587, First Ride On 36U001. Each of those does have a manufacturer minimum age in months, which is why the floor section below has more coverage than this one.

Plan-B asset · age fit

The manufacturer floor is almost constant

The structured field is where a real number lives, and it barely varies. That is the finding: a category spanning a toddler trike and a 36V utility vehicle has one age floor for almost every product in it.

12 months 1 / 15 7%
18 months 1 / 15 7%
36 months 11 / 15 73%
37 months 2 / 15 13%

The common floor — 11 of the 15 listings state 36 months, that is three years, as the manufacturer minimum age. The two 2 listings at 37 months are almost certainly the same floor written differently rather than a deliberate age distinction.

The exceptions — the floor drops to 1 listing at 12 months and 1 at 18 months. Both are 12V machines, and both are among the lightest in the catalogue, so the one field that does move tracks physical size rather than stated age.

Plan-B asset · age fit

The upper bound is stated mechanically

Eleven listings state a maximum age and the numbers deserve a warning label.

Twelve years — 2 listings state a maximum of 144 months. Both are 12V cars whose own published dimensions are around 30 inches long, for a child who would be roughly four times that child's height. The upper bound appears to be a form field filled in rather than a considered limit, and it should not be read as "suitable until twelve".

One hundred years — 1 listing carries a raw maximum of 1200 months, which is 100 years. That value is dropped rather than published, and this row is listed under the not-stated ceiling. It is counted here so the omission is visible instead of silent.

Plan-B asset · age fit

Age follows the machine, not the label

Reading the tiers together says the same thing as the floor section and says it more clearly: the catalogue's age information tracks the size of the machine, and the labelled age is what varies least.

Plan-B asset · age fit

Three gaps a parent's decision runs into

Stated because a parent comparing a 12V truck against a 24V two-seater needs all three and cannot get them from the listings.

No usable label — 5 of 15 listings have an age label with no number in it, and 6 have no label at all. Only 4 rows can be compared against a child's age directly.

No meaningful ceiling — of the 11 stated maximum ages, 5 are 96 months or more, on machines whose own dimensions make them unusable by a child that age. A parent who reads those numbers as endorsements would be misled.

No age-linked weight limit — the rider weight capacity a listing publishes is not tied to the age it states. The 24V two-seaters rated for 132 lb and the 12V truck rated for 66 lb have no age guidance attached to either figure, so the two cannot be reconciled from the record.

Plan-B asset · age fit

Age statements as published

The label column is the retailer's own wording. The minimum and maximum columns are the manufacturer months from the specification record.

Age statements as published
BrandModelAge labelMinimum ageMaximum ageBattery tier
GotraxGotrax RT11.5-4 years old12 mo48 mo12 V
Lil' RiderLil' Rider 90-YJ876BBaby, Kid36 mo60 mo6 V
FanttikRideFanttikRide N7 ProKids36 mo144 mo12 V
GotraxGotrax WG1not stated36 mo144 mo12 V
Miniature MotorsMiniature Motors BBH-038not stated36 mo60 mo12 V
WinadoWinado WNDTRUCK657not stated36 mo96 mo12 V
ANPABOANPABO QY-2988not stated18 mo36 mo12 V
WinadoWinado WDXFL587not stated36 mo36 mo12 V
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY5506Kid36 monot stated12 V
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY7413Kid36 mo72 mo12 V
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY9415Kid36 monot stated24 V
First Ride OnFirst Ride On FB0013-8 years36 monot stated24 V
ANPABOANPABO S3233-8 years old36 mo96 mo24 V
LIGIANTLIGIANT R937-96 Months37 monot stated24 V
First Ride OnFirst Ride On 36U001not stated37 mo120 mo36 V

How the ages were read

Source: the CMS product snapshot, gated to the id namespace electric_vehicles-* with category "electric_car", minus the listings Stage 1 prunes — 15 published cars.

The age label is the retailer's own Age Range Description, reproduced as written. A label is counted as numeric only when it contains a figure, so "3-8 years" counts and "Kid" does not.

Minimum and maximum ages are the manufacturer month fields from the user guide record. A maximum above the site's plausibility ceiling is dropped and counted separately rather than published; the threshold is defined in scripts/fetch_rideon_data.mjs.

No age was inferred from a product title, and no value was carried across from a sibling listing of the same model.

Nothing here was checked against a real child's height or weight.

Balance bike reference pages