BalanceBikeToddler

All 15 listings claim ASTM F963 and a CPSC listing — which makes the field uninformative. What a compliance mark proves, and the safety specs that differ.

Plan-B asset · safety standards

Kids Ride-On Safety Standards: 15 of 15 Claim ASTM F963

Every children's ride-on car in this catalogue carries the same two compliance marks: ASTM F963, the US toy safety standard, and a CPSC listing. 15 of 15 state the first, 15 of 15 the second. That makes the field useless as a comparison, so this page spends its space on the safety statements that do vary — and on the one that appears in none of them.

Plan-B asset · safety standards

The compliance marks, and why they cannot separate these cars

Two bars at full height, which is why they are reported and then set aside. Every car in this catalogue is inside the standard, so the marks say nothing about which of them is better made — but they are also the only safety statement a listing makes, and no listing here names a certificate number, a test laboratory or a report reference to back them up.

ASTM F963 15 / 15 100%
CPSC listing 15 / 15 100%
Certificate or test report named 0 / 15 0%
Plan-B asset · safety standards

The controls a powered car needs, and how rarely they are stated

A ride-on car is a different object from the push toys and scooters this site covers elsewhere: it has a motor, a rechargeable battery and a charger, which means it has brakes, a reversing gear and a battery that can be damaged. These are the counts for those facts, taken from the product titles and descriptions.

A brake — 1 of 15. Only the First Ride On 36U001, the four-seat golf car at $379.52, describes a brake at all. The other 14 listings describe a car with a motor and no stated way to slow it beyond the pedal.

A reversing gear — 5 of 15. The Gotrax RT1, the Lil' Rider 90-YJ876B, two Best Choice Products cars and the same First Ride On 36U001 describe reverse. That is the most commonly stated control of the five, and it appears mostly on the cheaper cars rather than the fastest ones.

A charger or charging instruction — 2 of 15. Only the Gotrax RT1 and the FanttikRide N7 Pro tell a buyer how the battery is charged. Both are 12V cars, and a 12V car that arrives without instructions for its charger is a smaller problem than a 24V or 36V car that does.

A speed limiter — 1 of 15. The ANPABO S323 at $314.49 is the only listing that mentions one, and it is also the only car in the catalogue described as having an adjustable speed limit, which on a machine that reaches 4.3 mph is a meaningful difference rather than a marketing line.

A battery warning — 0 of 15. Not one listing mentions lithium, overcharging, or the risk of a damaged cell, even though every one of these cars runs on a rechargeable pack that a child can reach. This is the largest single gap on the page, and the CPSC notices in this category are overwhelmingly about exactly this kind of battery.

Plan-B asset · safety standards

The safety statements that actually vary

These counts come from the product descriptions, not from the structured compliance field, because the descriptions are where the safety claims live. A listing that mentions a parental remote is telling a buyer something; a listing that carries ASTM F963 is telling every other listing the same thing.

Parental remote control 10 / 15 67%
A stated top speed 7 / 15 47%
A seat belt or harness 4 / 15 27%
Adult supervision 4 / 15 27%
Anti-rollover design 3 / 15 20%
Not for roadways 3 / 15 20%
A helmet 0 / 15 0%

Parental remote control — 10 of 15. The most widely stated safety device in the catalogue by a wide margin, and the one that most directly addresses the failure mode the recall record is full of: a vehicle that moves when the child is not driving it.

A stated top speed — 7 of 15 name a maximum speed in mph. This is the figure a parent needs in order to judge whether the machine belongs on a driveway or a pavement, and it appears in fewer listings than the remote does.

A seat belt or harness — 4 of 15. Fewer than a third of these cars describe any restraint, which is worth noting in a category where the two largest machines have four wheels and a roof.

Adult supervision — 4 of 15. Fewer than a third, and the listings that do mention it tend to be the slower machines, which suggests the phrase appears where a speed limit made it necessary rather than as standard advice.

Not for roadways — 3 of 15 say the vehicle is not intended for roads or for use near motor vehicles. Only one of those three is among the listings that also state a top speed, so the warning and the number usually arrive in different listings, which leaves a buyer without both.

Anti-rollover design — 3 of 15 describe anti-rollover, anti-tip or tipping-protection features. Two of them are the two lightest cars in the catalogue, where the risk being addressed is tipping rather than speed.

A helmet — 0 of 15. Not one listing in this catalogue mentions a helmet, in any form, in a category where the fastest machine here states a 5-to-8 mph range. This page does not supply helmet guidance of its own either; the sourced guidance on this site lives on the balance-bike and kids-bike safety pages.

Plan-B asset · safety standards

Materials and construction

One field that does separate these cars from each other.

Material type is stated by all 15 listings, and it splits 7 plastic-only cars against 7 that name metal or steel somewhere in the material field, with one listing naming polypropylene and nothing else. The metal-containing group is the larger vehicles: a metal-frame UTV, two metal-and-plastic trucks, a licensed Ford F-150 in alloy steel and polypropylene, and one all-metal body. Assembly is required on 15 of 15, and only 4 publish a warranty statement at all — a 30-day warranty on the 6V trike and 60-day returns policies on three Best Choice Products cars.

Plan-B asset · safety standards

What this catalogue cannot answer about a powered car

Four gaps, each of which a buyer can check for themselves on a shop floor and will not find answered in a listing.

No certificate — none of the 15 listings carries a certificate number, test report reference or certification body name. The compliance field is a bare list of standard names, identical down the page.

No helmet guidance — 0 of 15. A compliance mark covers the product, not the rider, and these listings say nothing about the rider either.

Speed in only 7 of 15 — the other 8 listings state no maximum speed anywhere, so there is no way to tell from the record whether the machine is a 2 mph wobble or a 6 mph runabout.

No assembly time and no manual — 15 of 15 say assembly is required and not one publishes an assembly time or a manual link, for products that include steering wheels, pedals, wiring and a battery in a box that may weigh seventy pounds.

Plan-B asset · safety standards

Compliance marks and the safety statements beside them

The first two columns are the same on every row — that is the finding. The columns after them are where the listings actually differ.

Compliance marks and the safety statements beside them
BrandModelASTM F963CPSCParental remoteSeat beltTop speed statedMaterial
GotraxGotrax RT1statedstatednot statednot stated1.5 mphPlastic
Lil' RiderLil' Rider 90-YJ876Bstatedstatednot statednot statednot statedPlastic
FanttikRideFanttikRide N7 Prostatedstatednot statednot stated4 mphPlastic
GotraxGotrax WG1statedstatednot statednot statednot statedPlastic
Miniature MotorsMiniature Motors BBH-038statedstatedstatednot stated3.5 mphMetal, Plastic
WinadoWinado WNDTRUCK657statedstatedstatednot statednot statedMetal, Plastic
ANPABOANPABO QY-2988statedstatedstatedstatednot statedPlastic
WinadoWinado WDXFL587statedstatedstatednot statednot statedMetal, Plastic
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY5506statedstatedstatedstatednot statedPlastic, Metal
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY7413statedstatedstatednot stated2.5 mphAlloy Steel, Polypropylene
Best Choice ProductsBest Choice Products SKY9415statedstatednot statednot statednot statedPolypropylene
First Ride OnFirst Ride On FB001statedstatedstatedstatednot statedMetal, PP Plastic
ANPABOANPABO S323statedstatedstatednot stated4.3 mphPlastic
LIGIANTLIGIANT R9statedstatedstatedstated4.35 mphPlastic
First Ride OnFirst Ride On 36U001statedstatedstatednot stated5-8 mphMetal

How compliance and safety were read

Source: the CMS product snapshot, gated to the id namespace electric_vehicles-* with category "electric_car", minus the listings Stage 1 prunes — 15 published cars.

Compliance values are taken from the listing's compliance field as recorded. They are not verified against a certificate database, and no certificate was looked up because none is referenced.

The safety topic counts come from the product title and description, matched against the literal phrase lists defined in src/data/kidsRideOnSafety.ts. A listing is counted once per topic however many phrases it contains, and a phrase in the marketing title counts the same as one in the description.

The control counts — brake, reverse, charger, speed limiter, battery warning — are matched the same way against a second literal phrase list in the same file. A listing that mentions a brake in any wording counts once; a listing that mentions nothing counts zero, and there is no inference from the absence of a word to the absence of the feature.

The standards are named as they appear in the source: "ASTM F963" and "CPSC". No standard has been paraphrased, expanded or mapped to a national equivalent.

Nothing was tested, and no product was handled or driven.

Balance bike reference pages