BalanceBikeToddler

Two wheels or three changes which child a scooter suits. All 7 kids' kick scooters here: 3 two-wheel, 3 three-wheel, and what the listings never state.

Plan-B asset · wheel layout

Kids Scooter Wheels: 2-Wheel vs 3-Wheel, 7 on Record

A kick scooter's wheel count decides who can ride it. Two wheels means the rider steers with body weight and balances it alone; three wheels means the deck stands up on its own and the rider leans to turn. Of the 7 kids' kick scooters this site publishes, 3 are two-wheel, 3 are three-wheel, and 1 records no wheel count at all.

Plan-B asset · wheel layout

How the $7 split

Half the catalogue each way, which is unusual for a category that usually skews one way. The three-wheel group is also the cheaper half: every three-wheel scooter here sits at the lower end of the price range, while the dearest listing is a two-wheel model.

Two wheels 3 / 7 43%
Three wheels 3 / 7 43%
Not stated 1 / 7 14%
Plan-B asset · wheel layout

The 3 two-wheel scooters

Balance is the skill being learned, so a two-wheel scooter suits a child who can already walk steadily and is willing to spend time falling over. Two of the 3 list a rear brake; the third lists neither a brake nor a suspension type. Only 3 of all 7 listings publish a handlebar height, and for this group it is 2.

Plan-B asset · wheel layout

The 3 three-wheel scooters

The deck is supported at both ends, so a three-wheel scooter is the common first scooter for a child too young to balance. All 3 of them state a rear brake. Two are also labelled for toddlers, and one advertises front suspension where the two-wheel group has rigid or rear suspension.

Plan-B asset · wheel layout

What the listings leave out

Two figures a buyer would want before choosing are missing from most of these records.

Wheel count — 6 of 7 state it. The 1 that does not is the Campior Green Mini, whose product name says "3 Wheel Scooter" while its structured field is empty.

Brake style — 5 of 7 name a braking system, all of them rear braking. No listing in this catalogue states a hand brake or a brake on the front wheel.

Suspension — 5 of 7 state it: one front suspension, one rear suspension, the rest rigid.

Plan-B asset · wheel layout

Every scooter in the count

Sorted by price. Wheel size is shown in inches, converted from the millimetre and inch figures the listings use inconsistently.

Every scooter in the count
BrandModelWheelsWheel sizeBrakeRider limit
CampiorCampiornot statednot statednot statednot stated
JetsonJetson 2-wheel Kick Scooter24 inRear Braking132 lb
RazorRazor A23.86 inRear Braking143 lb
GotraxGotrax KS134.5 inRear Braking110 lb
HurtleHurtle Kick Scooters34.72 inRear Braking132 lb
besreybesrey 40234.72 inRear Braking110 lb
WAYPLUSWAYPLUS HBC-Aqua2not statednot stated240 lb

How these counts were made

Source: the CMS product snapshot the site builds from, filtered to categoryId "scooters" and to the listings Stage 1 kept. 7 published listings qualify.

Wheel count is read from Number of Wheels in the specification record, which is the retailer's own structured field rather than our classification. Where it is empty the listing is counted as unstated, not guessed from the product name.

Wheel sizes arrive in inches and millimetres in the same column and are converted to inches here; the raw string for each is kept in the generated dataset so the conversion can be checked.

Wheel counts are as the retailer states them. Nothing here is tested, measured, or independently verified.

Balance bike reference pages