BalanceBikeToddler

All 7 listings claim ASTM F963 and a CPSC listing — which makes the field uninformative. What a compliance mark proves, and the specs that differ.

Plan-B asset · safety standards

Kids Scooter Safety Standards: 7 of 7 Claim ASTM F963

Every kids' kick scooter in this catalogue carries the same two compliance marks: ASTM F963, the US toy safety standard, and a CPSC listing. 7 of 7 state the first, 7 of 7 the second. A perfect score on this page is therefore not a signal about any individual scooter — it means the field carries no information that would separate one product from another.

Plan-B asset · safety standards

The coverage, and why it is uninformative

Two bars, both full. Uniform compliance is worth reporting precisely because it is uninformative: a shopper cannot use this field to choose between these seven scooters, and a page that presented it as a discriminator would be misleading. What the field does establish is that no listing in this set is absent from the standard entirely.

ASTM F963 stated 7 / 7 100%
CPSC stated 7 / 7 100%
Any compliance entry 7 / 7 100%
Plan-B asset · safety standards

What a compliance mark does and does not establish

This distinction matters more than the count, because the count looks reassuring and the distinction is what a buyer actually needs.

A compliance entry tells you the manufacturer or retailer has declared that the product falls under a named standard. ASTM F963 is the mandatory US toy safety standard; a CPSC listing indicates the product appears in the commission's records.

It does not tell you the product was tested, when it was tested, by whom, or that it passed on the current revision of the standard. None of these 7 listings names a certificate number, a test laboratory, or a certification body. The mark is a claim of applicability, not a published test result.

Plan-B asset · safety standards

The safety specifications that do vary

These are the fields where the seven listings genuinely differ, and they are more useful for a safety comparison than the compliance marks are.

Braking — 5 of 7 state a brake style and every one of them is rear braking. The remaining 2 listings name no braking system at all, which for a child's scooter is a more consequential omission than a missing wheel size.

Wheel material — 2 distinct materials appear across the listings that state one: Polyurethane, Polypropylene (PP). Polyurethane dominates.

Frame material — 3 distinct materials: Aluminum, Aluminum Metal, Engineered ABS, Alloy Steel. Aluminium is the common choice, with one listing specifying aluminium metal and engineered ABS.

Plan-B asset · safety standards

What a safety page cannot tell you from this catalogue

Stated plainly, because a page titled "safety standards" invites the assumption that the safety question has been answered.

No certificate — none of the 7 listings carries a certificate number, test report reference or certification body name. The compliance field is a bare list of standard names.

No test date — nothing in these records says when any compliance check was performed, so there is no way to tell whether a listing reflects the current standard or an older revision of it.

No helmet guidance — a compliance mark covers the product, not the rider. None of these listings states whether a helmet is recommended or required, and this page does not supply one either. Helmet guidance on this site lives on the balance-bike and kids-bike safety pages, where it is sourced.

Plan-B asset · safety standards

Compliance and safety specifications

The two compliance columns will look identical down the page — that is the finding. The brake and wheel material columns are where the listings actually differ.

Compliance and safety specifications
BrandModelASTM F963CPSCBrakeWheel material
CampiorCampiorstatedstatednot statednot stated
JetsonJetson 2-wheel Kick ScooterstatedstatedRear BrakingPolyurethane
RazorRazor AstatedstatedRear BrakingPolyurethane
GotraxGotrax KS1statedstatedRear BrakingPolyurethane
HurtleHurtle Kick ScootersstatedstatedRear BrakingPolyurethane
besreybesrey 402statedstatedRear BrakingPolypropylene (PP)
WAYPLUSWAYPLUS HBC-Aquastatedstatednot statedPolyurethane

How compliance was read

Source: the CMS product snapshot filtered to categoryId "scooters" and to the listings Stage 1 keeps — 7 published listings.

Compliance values are taken from the listing's compliance field as recorded. They are not verified against a certificate database, and no certificate was looked up because none is referenced.

The standards are named as they appear in the source: "ASTM F963" and "CPSC". No standard has been paraphrased, expanded or mapped to a national equivalent.

Brake, suspension, wheel and frame materials are reproduced from the specification record. Nothing was tested, and no product was handled.

Balance bike reference pages